Haven't posted in a while

I’m currently sick, the flu….so I have been effectively offline for a couple of weeks now.  However, I wanted to pass a couple of things on to my readers:

1.  I didn’t get a chance to restart my radio show.  God-willing I will be able to as early as this Friday, but Allah (swt) knows best.  I have a lot of things on my mind and talking about it is a more efficient method for me.  We shall see…

2.  I just wanted to put it out there that as long as you have faith in God and believe in the universal spirit of brotherhood and sisterhood by the grace of God anything can be resolved.  Without going into detail, I deleted for the first time a blog posting that was semi-critical of another Muslim’s commentary about the group in which I helped established.  We both spoke candidly and in the spirit of brotherhood and the matter was resolved.  Sometimes if you just extend and grab a hand and actually talk, things can be worked out.   This is why we should always strive to enjoin in the good and forbid what is evil perhaps, we may find out that we are often on the same sheet of music, just playing different instruments.

وَلَا تَسْتَوِي الْحَسَنَةُ وَلَا السَّيِّئَةُ ادْفَعْ بِالَّتِي هِيَ أَحْسَنُ فَإِذَا الَّذِي بَيْنَكَ وَبَيْنَهُ عَدَاوَةٌ كَأَنَّهُ وَلِيٌّ حَمِيمٌ (41:34)

41:34 But [since] good and evil cannot be equal, repel thou [evil] with something that is better// and lo! he between whom and thyself was enmity [may then become] as though he had [always] been close [unto thee], a true friend!

9 Comments

  1. Oh really?

    You deleted the blog post and my comment.

    Was it only because you and the other person really did find some common ground? Or was it something else?

    Was it because I discussed (in a most respectful manner) how your group may have been in the wrong?

    This is the third time a “progressive” Muslim blog has deleted my comments when I challenged them on their beliefs.

    I’m starting to notice a trend here.

    I’ve read some of your other posts, and I notice many of your ideas are very un-Islamic (for example, you support gay marriage…Istaghfirullah).

    You’ve said other “strange” things, but that right there was enough for me.

    Most Muslims know that this thing called “progressive” Islam is really Degenerative Islam. Many of the beliefs so-called progressive Muslims hold are utterly blasphemous.

    I don’t want to argue or debate your “beliefs”. Not just because I’m right (after all, I’m using the the Words of Allah and His Messenger as my proof), but because I don’t want to get into the whole blogging-backbiting-flaming game.

    I’ve read enough of that crap from the anti-salafi/anti-sufi wackos.

    Progressive (degenerative) Islam is a sham. It holds no water.

    And since you like to quote verses, here’s one for you:

    “Let there be no compulsion in religion: Truth stands out clear from Error: whoever rejects Taghut (evil) and believes in Allah hath grasped the most trust worthy hand-hold, that never breaks. And Allah heareth and knoweth all things.” (Qur’an 2:256)

    May Allah guide you and any other Muslim who seek to change His word or corrupt Islam.

    And if He decides in His wisdom not to guide you, then may He make your efforts fruitless and in vain.

    Ameen.

    Reply

  2. Wa Alaikumus Salaam,

    I do admit that I may have been too quick to judge your intentions. And, yes, I did accuse you of espousing “progressive” Islam.

    If I was wrong for that accusation, then I seek the forgiveness of Allah, and yours as well.

    However, I will not capitulate on the gay marriage thing.

    You said: “If you notice I never once mention my religious views on the subject, but the irony is that you quoted from the Holy Qur’an exactly why I feel the way about the subject.”

    And therein lies the problem.

    How can we not view this from a religious standpoint? How can Muslims stand by, mute, on a subject that is abhorrent to Allah?

    Homosexuality is haraam. What if the U.S. government said incest, or marriage between consenting brothers and sisters is legally protected by the Constitution?

    Are you going to support that also because you don’t want to force your religion on someone else? (After all, Allah does categorically forbid incest.)

    You will have to go through all sort of verbal and linguistic contortions to explain why you would support homosexual marriage but not incestual marriage.

    But for those of us who stand by the Word of Allah, and forbids what He forbids, and despises what He despises, we don’t have to do that. Both are haraam and both are forbidden.

    And the argument that we don’t want to force our religion on others is bogus. Muslims didn’t bring up Prop 8. It’s not Muslims driving the whole anti-gay marriage thing.

    Allah has commanded us to enjoin what is good and forbid what is evil.

    Homosexuality is evil. Therefore, gay marriage is evil. Hence, I will never support it. And since Allah doesn’t support it either, I think I’m in good company here.

    Allah will not punish Muslims for not supporting gay marriage.

    But, can you really say the same for those who DO support this evil act? Knowing your angels are writing down everything you say, can you comfortably declare that Allah will not punish, perhaps even reward, your support of gay marriage?

    You also said: “I believe that the moment you support these ideas you open yourself up to be a future victim of the same exact thing.”

    Do you mean that by being against gay marriage, one day Christian Conservatives will try to pass laws against Muslims?

    Who cares? I doubt America will ever become a real “Christian” nation anyway. The closest we got was George Bush II and we see what that got us.

    Islam is not a popularity contest. Some non-Muslims will like us and some will not. I believe, most will not. It doesn’t matter. Our ultimate goal is to please Allah.

    Now watch…if enough people read these comments, you will see some very anti-Islamic comments coming my way.

    That’s what we have to put up with as Muslims. We will always be “the other.”

    You also said: “To add to the blatant disrespect then you invoked Allah (swt) to grant me wisdom against issues that aren’t even true about me. Sad.”

    This is what I said: May Allah guide you and any other Muslim who seek to change His word or corrupt Islam.

    I did insinuate that you were trying to change the Word of Allah. You have stated that that is not your goal. I will make repentance Inshallah for that comment.

    However, I do believe that your support of gay marriage corrupts Islam as it may misguide those who do not know or give encouragement to those who engage in this evil behavior.

    So I will not take that comment back.

    Finally, I am not trying to divide Muslims. I’ve read through many of your previous posts, and it appears we will probably agree on many things. (Not everything, ’cause some of the stuff you say is kinda out there).

    We are both African-American Muslims from large metro areas. We both like video games, we’re both family men…well, I guess the similarities end there.

    As-Salaamu Alaikum.

    Reply

  3. I didn’t want to start a flaming thread on your blog, hence I’m going to leave this topic alone.

    It is apparent that I cannot change your mind. And you sure as heck can’t change mine.

    To continue going back and forth on this topic is pointless and counterproductive since this topic does not deserve this much attention.

    So, we’re going to have to agree to disagree.

    I will bookmark this blog, Inshallah. The next time you say/write anything controversial (I have a feeling you say a lot of controversial things), expect me to express my opinion.

    Ma’ Salaama.

    Reply

  4. Sallam brothers, I saw the discussion here and had to comment. I am the “blogger” that Robert and Abu Ibrahim are talking of. Here are my thoughts:

    1. On the issue of supporting gays, any Muslim scholar would tell you that such support would be in gross violation of Islam. The issue is pretty black and white here – no shades of grey unless you’re a “Progressive” Muslim or something of that ilk.

    2. In Islam there is no separation of religious life and political life, and so forth. We don’t compartmentalize Islam.

    3. In temporarily suspending my comments and “blogging” against said organization / persons, I have not absolved them of guilt but rather, taken Robert’s words, intentions and said future responsiblity of action from the organization to consideration. It’s fair in my view to give them the space and time to prove / improve / change.

    4. My image of Robert Salaam is much tainted by this support for gays. May Allah guide him. His views are in no way or form “Muslim”.

    5. I thank you brother Abu Ibrahim for your strong defense of our shared religion. May Allah bless you. Please feel free to contact me. Let’s keep a close eye on 5th column “Progressive” organizations. They have failed to gain support using conventional means, it would be there obvious next move to try doing so “on the sly”. I am building a data-sheet of the individuals and organizations that are responsible.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

