I need to stay off of Drudge….Gay Exorcism?

Have  you ever read something that just made you go slack-jawed?  Well, for those who read my blog, this probably happens to you often, but this isn’t about me today….

So I clicked on a link to this article and after watching the video clip, I just went slack-jawed.  Not because I have never seen stuff like this before (you wouldn’t believe some of the Churches I have been to!) but do to the controversial nature of the video and the topic in general.

Several thoughts rampaged through my mind over and over some I have been pondering for over a decade.  For instance, I have seen many a preacher “lay hands” on people to cast out demons, and similar scenes I have witnessed.  Now I never speak or discuss these things as far as the validity there of, but I have always wondered is it just an act or is “something” actually going on?  I mean take this video for instance, let’s take the whole “gay demon” thing out of the equation, I have seen this done for many a “demon” or “unclean” spirit done in the past, with similar results, and I wonder if it is an act, shouldn’t these people get Oscars?  I mean look at this kid in the video, he’s twisting, turning, and vomiting like nobody’s business…  I have seen little old ladies do similar things, and I can tell you, if you want to get your kids in line, let them witness something like this at a Church, talk about scarred straight! 🙂

Now in all seriousness, one has to wonder about the allegation of abuse.  I mean granted, this is a very freaky and weird video (but I’ve seen worse) but the question begs, did this individual (teen or not who knows?) volunteer for this “exorcism”?  I mean if they did, then in my opinion, can we really get mad at this weird ritual?

Now I get why people are mad.  It’s common sense.  Basically, what’s being stated is that homosexuality is really just a demon or unclean spirit that can be exorcised.  For many homosexuals, that infers that somehow who they are isn’t real, they are just possessed by Satan.  For many, their sexuality is just as much a part of them as their skin color, so I get that.

Now Christians will ask, well did it work?  I have to admit having read commentary from Christians on the issue, my morbid curiosity has me wondering as well.  I mean, if it’s a scam (and that’s where I leaning on the issue, although grandad would wash my mouth out with soap) then Gay Rights groups need to get a hold of this young man and expose this church.

Personally, I don’t have a dog in this hunt, but it’s definitely interesting to watch from the sidelines.  The only thing that really got under my skin outside of the general sideshow antics of the video in general, is this idea that the minister involved is calling himself a Prophet.  I have to admit and this is totally off topic, but why do Christian ministers have the need to call themselves a Prophet?  Granted as a Muslim, I automatically think that anyone calling themselves such after Prophet Muhammad (saw), is either arrogant or mad, but just for the sake of the argument, I would like to see these “Prophets” part the Red Sea, Walk on Water, or Produce new scriptures that produce a billion adherents.  Other than that, stop with the isanity.

On another off topic tangent, why is that Christians have the enterprise on exorcism?  I never see or have heard of other religions doing such.  Now I could give a serious response to my own question, but in jest, I have to admit that I wonder what I need to do if one of my children wake up one day like Linda Blair in the exorcist?  Maybe an Imam can answer that one, because my first response will be unless told otherwise,… “The power of Christ compels you….” :)….

Related Article:

Conn. church creates stir with gay exorcism video

BRIDGEPORT, Conn. (AP) – A Connecticut church has outraged gay rights advocates by posting a video of members performing an apparent exorcism of a teen’s “homosexual demons.”The 20-minute video was posted on YouTube before it was taken down.

Gay youth advocate Robin McHaelen (mih-KAY’-lehn) says the video appears to show abuse. She says she plans to report it to the Connecticut Department of Children and Families.

//

The boy confirms he is 16 but otherwise has declined to comment.

The Rev. Patricia McKinney of Manifested Glory Ministries in Bridgeport says he is 18 and came to the church on his own seeking help.

She denies the church is prejudiced and says it took care of the youth.

Leave a Reply

