I had a dream last night about the Republican Party…

It’s the weirdest thing and I haven’t shared this dream with anyone just yet (well I guess I am now) but last night I had a dream about the Republican Party last night. I dreamed I was a Republican strategist!

What is weird is that I’m not a Republican and probably would never be one, but I am somewhat Conservative or maybe left of center.  🙂

Either way, I don’t remember all the details of the dream, but I wonder if it was triggered by the news of Senator Arlen Specter switching to the Democratic Party yesterday.

In my dream I was at a conference for Conservatives or something like a think tank and I was presenting my thoughts on what “we” needed to do to grow “our” party and win elections.

These are some of the things I came up with and said in my dream:

“We” need to focus on our core philosophies of fiscal conservatism, less government, and lower taxes. Now is the best time to re-emphasize these principles as Americans would be more receptive to hearing these things, however we have to be serious and use a serious scalpel for budget cuts, for example, there’s billions that could be saved by focusing on government contracting. Most agencies do not have contracting plans that include serious auditing and evaluations to ensure that the government is getting the proper value for what they are paying to contracting companies. If the government hired Six Sigma Black Belts at every federal agency for example, waste could be cut throughout the various federal agency processes. That’s just one example of things that could be done.

“We” have to be open to other groups and thought processes. Right now the GOP looks like the old, angry, white, Evangelical party. This is evident at rallies, conferences, etc. While it’s not entirely true, it sure looks that way. The GOP will surely die like this especially considering that the American demographic is shifting rapidly. Therefore, it is prudent that we distance ourselves from the white Evangelicals and fully backing divisive ideological political issues such as gay marriage and abortion as these ideas are not as important to the majority of Americans. By distancing from the far right and Evangelicals the focus can be on fiscal responsibility and less government, something most Americans can agree with. Gay marriage and roe v wade are toxic political issues that only distance the majority of Americans from conservative principles and marginalizes the party. More Americans worry about Government Spending and intervention in their lives than they do about who’s sleeping with whom.

“We” have to reach out to minorities especially the black and latino communities. Both of these communities are culturally very conservative, but vote largely Democratic, because our party is seen to not represent their interests and appears to be hostile to them especially when the majority of the base is white evangelicals.

This paradox can be overcome, because culturally we share the same ideological issues on many levels, but politically we seem to be very different. More effort has to be given to show that less government intervention is a good thing and fiscal responsibility will help all Americans.

We have to really strive to diversify our party, moderate our platform, and stick with core principles and not divisive ideologies that don’t represent the majority of Americans views.

Elections cannot be won based on adherence to will of the far right, but by the will of the majority of Americans…..

It was something like that in my dream, I don’t remember it word for word, but it was something like that.

I’m still trying to figure out, why I even had the dream!

I almost feel like I have to cross myself and say a few Hail Obama’s to get the evil Reaganesque spirits away from me! 🙂

2 Comments

  1. Sounds like you recall quite a bit of detail from your dream. Trippy. Being Catholic this “I almost feel like I have to cross myself and say a few Hail Obama’s to get the evil Reaganesque spirits away from me!” made me laugh out loud!!

    It will be interesting to see where your dream goes…

    Peace.

    Reply

    1. Peace and Blessings to you as well,

      I’m certain I “embellished” a little bit somewhere as I don’t remember the speech in my dream word for word, but it’s not uncommon for me to have dreams where I’m giving exhaustive speeches in some venue or meeting. It’s weird but I have dreams like this often, this is the first one where I was a Republican, most of my dreams like this involve me debating or teaching about religion, namely Islam with opponents or even other Muslims. Or I could just be crazy…. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

