Is Senator Barack Obama the modern day Joshua?

mlk.jpg barackobama_sm.jpg

Now I know what this question sounds like. First and foremost I don’t buy into the whole Obama messianic figure thing, however this morning as I drove to work it almost hit me like a bolt of lightening. The pundits all day yesterday after the speech were heralding Obama’s speech as “historic”, “one of the best if not the best speeches on race in years”, “the best speech since Dr. Kings I have a dream speech“, etc.

Now the speech was also likened to many of the great speeches like “The Gettysburg Address” and other Presidential speeches, but the one thing that kept sticking out in my mind are the “best in 40 years or so” references. I kept thinking to myself 40years, Dr. King, 40years, Dr. King…..That’s when it hit me.

Now before I go any further, rest assured that I’m not “spooky” and into all the esoteric sciences and study and stuff. For all my religious training and study, the one subject I stay clear of is prophecy. Those who know me personally can vouch for me. When it comes to religious studies I tend to stick with history, textual analysis, and actual stated beliefs. Prophecy for me, is too broad, not precise, and in the end is just opinion with anyones guess. However, my faith tells me that all things happen for a reason and that sometimes if we just look, we can see the signs.

With that said, as I focused on “Dr. King” and “40years” as well as the “I have a Dream Speech” that Obama’s speech was likened to. So I read the Dr. King’s “I have a Dream” speech in it’s entirety and the one reoccurring theme in his speech about racial injustice that kept beating like a drum was God’s promise. This speech reminded me of Moses (as) telling the Children of Israel that God is going to deliver them, he’s telling the people about the promised land and hope for the future. If you carefully go over the speech the Biblical account of Exodus sticks out like a sore thumb. But it gets even better…

The night before Dr. King’s assassination he delivered a speech, “Ive been to the Mountaintop” almost 40 years ago, on April 3rd, 1968 where he said:

Like anybody, I would like to live a long life. Longevity has its place. But I’m not concerned about that now. I just want to do God’s will. And He’s allowed me to go up to the mountain. And I’ve looked over. And I’ve seen the Promised Land. I may not get there with you. But I want you to know tonight, that we, as a people, will get to the promised land!

To me this reminded me of an old Prophet Moses (as) who at the eve of his death reminded the Children of Israel that God’s promise was still true and that they would get to the promised land eventually even though he wouldn’t join them.

Now I know it sounds weird, but this seems very interesting when one looks at the Biblical narrative. Certainly I’m not calling MLK a prophet or trying to diminish the scripture in anyway. I’m just reflecting and commenting on how spiritual this whole thing feels.

There has been all kinds of hype in the media about Obama, many referring to him as a messianic figure to his followers and there are people who cry at his speeches as if they were at a Michael Jackson concert.

But….

What if these spiritual ramblings had truth in them. What if this was all part of a vision for a new and better America? What if it was all part of the divine design?

So what about Joshua? Joshua was a youthful leader who eventually picked up the torch and led the people into the promised land. He was in the vein of Moses (as) but was not of the generation the preceded him. He led the people into the promised land. Could Obama be that Joshua? What about the 40 years? There was a time where the Children of Israel wandered in the wilderness for 40 years. During this time many of the original people that crossed the red sea died and with every trial there were glimmers of hope and periods of relief, but ultimately the Children of Israel didn’t reach the promised land until Joshua came along.

Now I know I’m all over the place and this is actually my second writing of the same post 🙂 but what I wanted convey is that for those of us that lean toward the spiritual understand of things, this whole concept is at least “interesting”.

Moses (as), is one of the most important figures in the Abrahamic religions. He’s refered to often in the Old Testament, New Testament, and the most talked about in the Qur’an. Why? I could write an entire post on that as well. But Moses (as) is almost always looked at as one who heralds a deliverer, his counterpart Joshua is a messianic figure. “Coincidentally” Joshua in Hebrew Yoshua, is very similar to Jesus or Yeshua and often indistinguishable in language. So what’s in a name anyway?

Is this all coincidence? Is it just another ranting of an Obama supporter? Let’s talk about it. Who knew that Barack means Blessing and Hussein means Handsome. Could Obama be a handsome blessing for the United States and the world? Could he be our Joshua like Dr. King was our Moses (as). Could this very important speech be the page turner we really need to move forward as a nation?

Or could I just be a little crazy?

Time will tell. 🙂

Psalm 118:22-23 The stone which the builders rejected has become the chief cornerstone. This was the LORD’S doing; it is marvelous in our eyes.

3 Comments

  1. As a Palestinian friend once told me: “Never ask that question!”
    Anyway, You’re right about Jesus and Joshua, they’re actually the same name meaning “the Lord saves”. Jesus is the Latinisation of the Greek (Ιησους) rendering of the Hebrew ‘Jeshua’ (יֵשׁוּעַ) which is the short version of Jehoshua (יְהוֹשֻׁעַ), the name rendered as Joshua in English.
    Both are derived from the verb (יָשַׁע) which means ‘to save, help, deliver’.
    (I hope all the unicode will work…)

    Reply

  2. I had a dream about the same thing and im only 11. i saw people walking,
    it was everyone we all entered into the promised land. sen. obama was leading there. my mom said it was a prophecy of the election

    Reply

  3. It sounds like it and it feels like it but that being said, I’d have to say conjecture of any nature involving what will happen in the future is really out of our hands. The bible is explicit that there will be plenty of people who “appear” as holy and contrite, they will “appear” almost Godlike themselves; however, the bible is crystal clear that we must be aware of those antichrists that will lead us away from God. Now, I’m not saying that Obama is the antichrist, I don’t know him on a personal level or a professional level for that matter. What I am saying is that the devil likes to come to us like a sheep but in wolves clothing and unless and only we have a divine personal relationship with Christ and we know his word inside and out to the best of our human ability, we will fall for the antichrists of this world. Now, that being said. If Obama were truly a Christian, then his beliefs would line up to those beliefs of Christ in the bible and the Christ in the bible believes in Life! Life means, ALL life. It means not aborting or condoning such a method for ANY reason! Life is Life is Life, no matter how that life came to be. I believe that Obama is a pro choicer. I believe that although we have the right to choose as God didn’t want to have puppets, I do believe that his will for us is to choose wisely! Again, it’s all a matter of whether a person who “appears” to be or is claiming to be, whether or not they are doing it by word or deed or any other mystical or majical way, needs to line up with the word of God. I do love your input though as it gets people thinking! Peace and Love to you, Mbtilley

    Reply

Leave a Reply

